THE VENDOR KNOWS BEST BUT THE CUSTOMER IS KING!


You Pay Peanuts You Get MonkeysThe funny thing about working with vendors is that sometimes they can play with words so well that you end up taking all the pricey offers from them without having to even realize the value of each. It’s even tricky for people who are just new to this type of partnership because vendors can easily reverse the idea of "The Customer is King" to "The Vendor Knows Best".

I remember when I first bought my Apple iPhone 3GS, it took me a month to review all its specifications and read feedbacks from those who got the product. I am a type of consumer who make sure that I get what I pay for. When I got my iPhone 4 and iPad 2, I spent more time doing my research because of so many alternative smartphones and tablet PCs in the market.

There is a saying that says "if you pay peanuts, you get monkeys". I hate to even use this because sometimes you can get a good product or a good service cheaper than the leading brand. In the 15 years that I was exposed to the IT industry, this is the only time I have seen a big name not meeting its brand reputation in terms of quality service and competency.

I am not naming names but I do hope that in due time, this vendor will get to realize that overselling is not the way to go especially for a client who is paying twice the normal amount that it should to do a regular implementation project. Unlike first-time clients, we have done similar projects on our own in the past that we are able to gauge performance and quality.

Perhaps, it is wrong for us to expect too much or perhaps the amount we are to pay is just a peanut to them. Maybe. At the end of the day, peanut or gold, clients deserve quality resource, quality products and quality service. I am not trying to find fault or single out someone, I am talking in general. Although it may be valid at times to state that the vendor knows best, still…

The Customer is King!