WITH GROWTH COMES RESPONSIBILITY!


This morning, we had this once in a blue moon opportunity to have our CEO and the rest of the management team in our office for a short visit. Two hours was indeed a very short one but we were able to maximize it. It was such an honor to be with them! We even had a group photo afterwards. The only thing that I regret not doing was raising my hand on time so I could have had the chance to ask a question that I had to put up a day before!
 
In my failure to speak my mind, I was indeed restless since the time our CEO left the office to visit another site abroad and even until now as I write this blog entry. I was even rehearsing as I was listening to our CEO’s speech prior to the Q&A portion because I thought I was to be called soon to ask my question. Due to tight schedule, my colleague had to signal the end of the Q&A. It was a dead end! 
 
Upon seeing that I am running out of opportunity to ask, I thought of raising my hand to volunteer. But even before I was about to do that, our CEO started giving his closing remarks by thanking us all. My nervous heart suddenly stopped beating. The feeling was worse than missing a flight home. I wasted my chance to ask our CEO something that I really wanted to know.
 
We have had discussions and several good questions focused on growth which is really impressive. We have covered safety as well which is our top priority. What I missed and wanted to ask is more about our company’s view on corporate social responsibility or simply social development. We never had a discussion about it nor had people asking the same so I could have raised something different. Tsk.
 
Our mission statement is three-fold – feeding the world, protecting health and providing the conveniences of life. We develop products so the world can produce food. We provide the right chemistry to keep us healthy and we offer various solutions and technologies to make life easier and convenient. . It’s a statement describing “why we exist” as a company aside from doing plain business.
 
My question was more about the people and the company as a whole in relation to social development. How are we doing so far in terms of corporate social responsibility in a global perspective? How are we feeding the world with regards to the issue of world hunger? Where are we now with regards to giving back something to the world? I really want to know the answer and perhaps, I may need to wait for that blue moon to come again!
 
So why am I so eager to ask my question? Well, the answer is simple! With huge growth comes great responsibility… and I want to be a part of that growth and share with the responsibilities! Cheers!