DOC… YOU’VE GOT MAIL!


FB Doctor

Just a few seconds ago, I read a shout from one of my close friend way back in grade school and high school via Facebook. He is a good blogger as well and he is now a doctor. After having read his shout, I thought of writing him a message. The reason is made clear in the actual message I wrote below. Besides, we as friends should sometimes get in touch and impart learning than can’t be learned in school!

Anyway, we were friends for quite sometime and he knows me too well that I speak my mind as needed. Thus, I know that he would understand if I get to say something over his shout. Anyway, I initially thought of posting it as a comment but out of professionalism, I sent it as a private message instead. Besides, I am writing him in good faith that perhaps my opinion could make him a better doctor someday.

So here goes my message…

Doctor XYZ. And you should know and understand exactly why…🙂 Komusta naka? Malwat tana e miyakit or misabi. Makanyan man, oyni sulatan daka. Komusta muku kang Lola mu pala. Sana mayap ya at healthy. (How are you? It’s been awhile since we last seen each or talked to each other. Nonetheless, I am writing you a letter now. Please give my regards to your grandmother. I hope she is well and in good health.)

Anyway, since you’re my friend and a very close one, I wish to share my thoughts in the hope that maybe it could contribute a little on making you a good doctor someday. What you do is beyond profession and it is not just a money-making career. Your job is important because it is all about saving lives and making people feel better. Not all things can be taught in school but we have friends and loved ones who can also be good teachers. So read on my friend…🙂

My uncle just died recently. He went to the hospital because he was feeling numb and sick, he was vomiting and having extreme headache. The young doctor same as our age checked his BP and told him it must have been something he ate for dinner. He was given medicine and was sent home in a rush without even confining him or further observing him. Just a few hours later, he died. They say he must have had a stroke and soon his organs started failing. Tsk.

The same happened to my father-in-law. He was rushed to a known hospital in Davao City. The doctors said he was okay. He had a stroke but he was conscious and he could talk. We all hurriedly took the first flight to visit him. The doctor updated us and since he has to leave for the weekend, he told us that he applied extra dosage of medicines to ensure the patient is stable and kept sedated as he is removing all the needles earlier on. The doctor left assuring us that all will be okay.

Just 15 minutes after the doctor left, my father-in-law was being applied CPR by 10-15 young doctors. No veteran was present. It was like being in a science class where everyone was observing, practicing and impatiently telling us that it was more than 10 minutes. Some where even showing gestures that they were tired and bored. Soon, they stopped. No one even told us what happened nor a simple "We are sorry but he is gone.". My wife’s dad died that day.

We’re not doctors to tell if all was done well. In IT, we can do audit and see if codes were done with flaws or that the entire process was not followed. In medicine, we as patients can only trust God and the doctors. So impatient as patients can be, we need doctors who are more than patient and understanding. Sick people can be impatient because they are sick and they are not feeling well and that is exactly where a doctor is needed – to comfort and make the patient feel better. Just my two cents worth!