KING OF PHILIPPINE COMICS : MARS RAVELO VS CARLO J. CAPARAS


 Carlo Caparas vs Mars Ravelo

Thanks to the image created by Gilbert Monsanto because through the art above, I can best describe my blog entry using the said illustration. At any rate, artists like Carlo J. Caparas and Mars Ravelo are jewels of our culture. Imagine having to almost have our very own Philippine versions of DC and Marvel superheroes. Imagine having Dyesebel, Darna, Captain Barbell, Lastikman, Panday, Joaquin Bordado, Totoy Bato, Tiny Tony, Varga and the likes. It’s just like having our own Pinoy Justice League or perhaps our very own Philippine X-Men. Thus, It is a thing that we all should be proud of.

Regardless of who is awarded the National Artist Award, I still have the highest respect for both because my grandfather and even uncles are cartoonists as well. Once my Uncle Jerry who is in the military intelligence service made his own comic strips for a living. Most were not documented but having a root of talented artists where my great grandfather was once one of the distinguished artist of this country even sent by President Manuel Quezon to the United States of America for further studies, arts particularly painting, sculpture, drawing and cartooning has always been special to our clan.

I for once participated and almost bagged all poster-making, bulletinboard-making, drawing and even editorial-cartooning contests in our school from elementary to high school and a mural painting contest during my college days at the University of the Philippines. It is just now that I only get to put more time writing and with photography that painting. I used to collect brushes and other art materials but now I only have MS Paint to draw. I miss the art of expressing your thoughts through graphical illustrations using your imagination as your tool. That is more powerful that writing in my own opinion!

Anyway, I do not intend to share negative insights on this National Artist Issue because in my own opinion, it is not the artists that we have to boycott but the selection process and how agency responsible failed to acknowledge fairly other talents worthy of the recognition as well. Take Dolphy for example! When are we going to recognize them? When they are gone just like the late Master Rapper, Francis Magalona? As for who is the King for me for Philippine Comics, I would say that both deserves the title. Mars Ravelo’s Darna may be a hit but Carlo J. Caparas’ Panday is also a symbol in our culture. Perhaps, we need not to compare. Besides, it’s the selection process that is to be blamed after all! Just my two cents!!!

Mars Ravelo Superheroes

Carlo J Caparas

 

 

Note: All images and characters depicted on this site holds copyright from their respective holders, and are used for informational purposes only. No infringement is intended and copyrights remain at source.