SONA 2010: THE 1ST STATE OF THE NATION ADDRESS OF PRESIDENT BENIGNO SIMEON AQUINO III


July 26, 2010 – 03:50PM. It’s barely 10 minutes before 4PM. I am working at home and at watching the news at the same time being a concerned citizen of this country. Today will be the first State Of The Nation Address or SONA of President Benigno Simeon Aquino II who was inaugurated as the 15th President of the Republic of the Philippines.

SONA 2010Being a tax payer and a Filipino, it is my right to know what is the current state of the nation. It is my right to know as well what my chosen president has planned to address the various issues of the land for the next 6 years. I have always been at the office working during the past SONAs of past presidents. Thus, I am equally excited to watch it live this time.

As read from the news this weekend, President Aquino is set to expose some anomalies from the past administration led by the Former President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo. Unfortunately, the former president and now a congresswoman in Pampanga rushed yesterday to Hong Kong to accompany her husband for a medical checkup. Thus, she’s spared of the possible embarassment.

Both President Aquino and Former President Macapagal-Arroyo are children of past presidents – Pres. Cory Aquino and Pres. Diosdado Macapagal. Both of them are fellow Cabalen too. Like me, they are both Capampangans. It’s just sad that PGMA’s administration was tainted with so many anomalies and scandals. I could have been prouder to have 4 presidents who are Cabalens!

Anyway, the SONA is almost starting now. I have to stop writing so I can listen well. I know that most of us are interested with the anomalies that P.Noy is set to expose but I am also excited to hear about what the new administration is doing to put all people responsible to justice. I am also excited to hear about how the nation would be 6 years from now.

I just hope that as usual, President Aquino will deliver his SONA in Filipino so many of our countrymen both educated and not will be able to listen and be informed. Besides, the SONA is not for other country to listen to, it is for the entire Philippines and its citizenry. So I believe that there is no need for the speech to be in foreign tongue just to impress the world. Salamat P.Noy!

UPDATE: For those who wish to read the full transcript of the SONA both in ENGLISH and in FILIPINO, please see the blog article link below.

SONA 2010: TRANSCRIPT OF THE 1ST STATE OF THE NATION ADDRESS OF PRESIDENT BENIGNO SIMEON AQUINO III

http://ryanericsongcanlas.wordpress.com/2010/07/26/sona-2010-transcript-of-the-1st-state-of-the-nation-address-of-president-benigno-simeon-aquino-iii/

